mary_jesusThe Rosary is prayed in the Priory Chapel at St Kieran's each Wednesday evening at 7.30pm and at St Cecilia's on a Wednesday at 1.00pm.

A group also pray the Rosary most mornings after the 8.30. Mass (except on Friday when it is prayed before the Mass at 8.15). 


The Rosary is divided into five decades. Each decade represents a mystery or event in the life of Jesus. There are four sets of "Mysteries of the Rosary" (Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful, and Glorious). These four "Mysteries of the Rosary" therefore contain, a total of twenty mysteries. The Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful, and Glorious Mysteries are then said on specific days of the week (see each set of mysteries below). During private recitation of the Rosary, each decade requires devout meditation on a specific mystery. Public recitation of the Rosary (two or more people), requires a leader to announce each of the mysteries before the decade, and start each prayer (see "The Family Rosary" below).


The Apostle's Creed is said on the Crucifix; the Our Father is said on each of the Large Beads; the Hail Mary is said on each of the Small Beads; the Glory Be after the three Hail Mary's at the beginning of the Rosary, and after each decade of Small Beads. In June 13, 1917, Our Lady asked that an additional prayer be added after each decade of the Rosary (see prayers at the end of this document). It is a prayer of forgiveness to Jesus and is said following the Glory Be after each decade only.


The Joyful Mysteries

  • First Joyful Mystery - The Annunciation of Gabriel to Mary
  • Second Joyful Mystery - The Visitation of Mary to Elizabeth
  • Third Joyful Mystery - The Birth of Jesus
  • Fourth Joyful Mystery - The Presentation of Jesus in the Temple
  • Fifth Joyful Mystery - Finding Jesus in the Temple



The Sorrowful Mysteries

  • First Sorrowful Mystery - Agony of Jesus in the Garden
  • Second Sorrowful Mystery - Jesus is Scourged at the Pillar
  • Third Sorrowful Mystery - Jesus is Crowned With Thorns
  • Fourth Sorrowful Mystery - Jesus Carries His Cross
  • Fifth Sorrowful Mystery - The Crucifixion of Jesus


The Glorious Mysteries

  • First Glorious Mystery - The Resurrection of Jesus
  • Second Glorious Mystery - The Ascension of Jesus
  • Third Glorious Mystery - The Descent of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost
  • Fourth Glorious Mystery - The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
  • Fifth Glorious Mystery - The Coronation of Mary as Queen of Heaven and Earth 


The Luminous Mysteries

  • First Luminous Mystery - The Baptism of Jesus in the River Jordan
  • The Second Luminous Mystery - The Wedding at Cana, Christ Manifested
  • The Third Luminous Mystery - the Proclamation of the Kingdom of God
  • The Fourth Luminous Mystery - The Transfiguration of Jesus
  • The Fifth Luminous Mystery - The Last Supper, the Holy Eucharist